March 2020
4 | 03 | 2020, we – 12:00
Conference Hall of the Moscow Conservatory
Meeting with composer. MICHAEL JARRELL (Switzerland)

The meeting is supported by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

 Photo by C.Daguet / Editions Henry Lemoine

5 | 03 | 2020, th – 19:00
Rachmaninov hall of the Moscow conservatory
Focus Genève: Michael Jarrell
Michael Jarrell, Aram Hovhannisyan, Yumiko Yokoi


Michael Jarrell
Lied ohne Worte for violin, cello and piano (2012)

Yumiko Yokoi
Ombres lumineuses for ensemble (2006)
Russian premiere

Michael Jarrell
Bebung for clarinet, cello and ensemble (1995)

Aram Hovhannisyan
Inter(re)actions for violin, cello and piano (2019)
Russian premiere

Michael Jarrell
Verästelungen (Assonance Ic) for ensemble (2016)
Russian premiere


Nikite Agafonov, clarinet
Stanislav Malyshev, violin
Olga Galochkina, cello
Mona Khaba, piano

Studio for New Music ensemble
Conductor — Sergey Akimov

The concert is supported by the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia

Photo by C.Daguet / Editions Henry Lemoine

Special guest — Michael Jarrell

Michael Jarrell
Born on October 8, 1958 in Geneva, Michael Jarrell studied composition at the Geneva Conservatory with Eric Gaudibert and at various workshops in the United States (Tanglewood, 1979). He completed his training with Klaus Huber at the Freiburg Staatliche Hochschule für Musik im Brisgau.

Starting in 1982, his works have received numerous prizes: prix Acanthes (1983), Beethovenpreis from the city of Bonn (1986), Marescotti prize (1986), Gaudeamus (1988), Henriette Renié (1988), and Siemens-Förderungspreis (1990). Between 1986 and 1988, he was in residence at the Cité des Arts in Paris and took part in the computer music course at Ircam. He resided at the Villa Médicis in Rome during 1988/89, and then joined the Istituto Svizzero di Roma in 1989/90. He has received the Music Prize from the City of Vienna (Musikpreis der Stadt Wien 2010).

From October 1991 to June 1993, he was composer in residence with the Lyon Orchestra. Beginning in 1993, he became professor of composition at the University in Vienna. In 1996, he was "composer in residence" at the Lucerne festival, and then was heralded by the Musica Nova Helsinki Festival, which dedicated the festival to him in 2000.
In 2001, the Salzburg Festival commissioned a concerto for piano and orchestra entitled Abschied. The same year, he was named "Chevalier des Arts et des Lettres".
In 2004, he was named professor of composition at the Geneva Conservatory.

Michael Jarrell composes in 2016, Aquateinte for oboe and orchestra premiered by François Leleux in Frankfurt am Main, Salt Lake City, Monte Carlo and Bern. The same goes for two other concertos, Des nuages et des brouillards (violin and orchestra), Ilya Gringolts gives his first performance in Lausanne and Hong-Kong and Emergences-Résurgences (viola and orchestra) for Tabea Zimmermann in Strasbourg, Wien, Geneva and Berlin.
In 2017, his flute concerto ...Un temps de silence... composed for Emmanuel Pahud and Scharoun Ensemble, is premiered in Berliner Philharmonie.
A new opera, Bérénice adapted from Jean Racine (commissioned by Opera National de Paris) has been be created in 2018 in Paris with Barbara Hannigan (Bérénice) and Bo Skovhus (Titus).

19 | 03 | 2020, th – 19:30
Russian State Humanitarium University, Mirror hall
THE SUITE OF MIRRORS: Alexander Knaifel
Compositions by Alexander Knaifel


In air clear and unseen with Tyutchev, piano and string quartet (1994)
Lamento for cello solo (1967/1987)
Musique militare for piano (1964)
Avowal of love a Poem by Alexandr Pushkin for piano (2003)
Bliss of the poem by Alexandr Pushkin for soprano and piano (1997/2018)


Ekaterina Kichigina, soprano
Sergey Sudzilovsky, cello
Mona Khaba, piano
Natalia Cherkasova, piano

String quartet Studio for New Music

Stanyslav Malyshev, violin
Inna Zilberman, violin
Anna Burchik, viola
Olga Kalinova, cello

The compere of the concert is Svetlana Savenko